Department: Environmental Affairs Republic of South Africa      National Waste Management Strategy      Alternative Waste Treatment Guide      IWMP online toolkit South African Waste Information Centre
 Welcome to the South African Waste Information Centre (SAWIC)
Waste Information Centre
 Last Updated: 2016-04-24 09:23:14 
Provinces and waste
Select province:
northern cape North West Limpopo Mpumalanga KwaZulu Natal Eastern Cape Western Cape Free State Gauteng

This section provides government and the South African public with access to guidelines, reports, policy, legislation within the 9 provinces of South Africa.

According to the National Environmental Management: Waste Act, 2008 (Act 59 of 2008), the provincial environmental departments are responsible for management and licensing of General Waste Management Activities listed in terms of Section 19 of the Act.